Celebrating Women’s World Cup: Spain Outlasts England 1-0

Spain’s First Women’s World Cup Win

Spain won the FIFA Women’s World Cup for the first time on Sunday, August 20, 2023. They beat England 1-0 in a very exciting final in Sydney, Australia. Olga Carmona scored the only goal of the game in the first half. She kicked the ball very hard from the left side and it went past the England goalkeeper. England tried to score too, but Spain’s goalkeeper and defenders stopped them.

The game was very close and both teams played well. Spain had more of the ball and passed it quickly. England was stronger and faster and attacked when they could. The first good chance was for England in the 18th minute, when Lauren Hemp crossed the ball for Lauren James, who headed it just wide of the goal.

Spain answered with some attacks of their own and made the England goalkeeper work hard. In the 23rd minute, she saved a shot from Jennifer Hermoso. Six minutes later, Spain scored their amazing goal with Carmona.

England did not give up and kept trying to score too, but Spain’s defenders were very good and blocked their shots. The closest they came to scoring was in the 39th minute, when Hemp’s cross was met by James again, but this time Spain’s goalkeeper made a great save and pushed the ball over the bar.

The second half was more open and both teams had more chances to score, but they missed them. In the 54th minute, Hemp got a yellow card for a foul on Ona Batlle and will miss England’s next game. In the 59th minute, Spain made their first change, with Oihane Hernandez coming on for Alba Redondo.

England kept pushing and made some dangerous plays, but Spain’s goalkeeper and defenders were always there to stop them. In the 71st minute, Laia Codina got injured and had to be replaced by Ivana Andres. In the 77th minute, Salma Paralluelo got a yellow card for a foul on Alex Greenwood. In the 78th minute, England had a great chance to tie the game when James was alone with Spain’s goalkeeper, but she saved it with her foot.

Spain also had some chances to score more goals, but they wasted them. In the 81st minute, Hermoso fell down in the box after a tackle from Leah Williamson, but the referee said it was not a penalty. In the 86th minute, Spain made their second change, with Alexia Putellas coming on for Mariona Caldentey. In the 87th minute, England made their only change of the game, with Bethany England coming on for Ella Toone.

Sapin vs. England (FIFA Women's World Cup)

The last minutes of Women’s World Cup were very tense and exciting, as England threw everything they had at Spain, but could not score. Spain defended with all their heart and celebrated when the game ended. They had done something amazing and won their first World Cup.

Spain’s coach Jorge Vilda was very happy after the game and said nice things about his players. He said: “I’m so proud of this team, they have worked so hard and given up so much to get here. They have shown their skill and spirit throughout this tournament, and they deserve this trophy more than anyone. This is a historic day for Spanish football and for women’s football in general.”

England’s coach Sarina Wiegman was sad but also proud of her team. She said: “It’s a hard loss to take, but we have to accept it and move on. Spain were better than us today and we have to say well done to them for their achievement. They played very well and scored a fantastic goal. We did our best to come back into the game, but we couldn’t find the net. I’m very proud of my players though, they have given everything they had and reached their first World Cup final. They have nothing to be ashamed of.”

Women’s World Cup was watched by a lot of people at Stadium Australia , as well as millions of people on TV . The tournament was very good and everyone liked it . Spain’s Aitana Bonmatí was named as the best player of the tournament, while Japan’s Hinata Miyazawa was the top scorer with five goals . Sweden won third place by beating Australia 2-0 on Saturday .

Spain’s win is the end of an amazing Women’s World Cup, which has shown how great women’s football is and inspired many people to play and watch it more. The next World Cup will be in 2027, but we don’t know where yet. Until then, Spain can enjoy their moment of glory and celebrate their historic achievement. They have beaten England and everyone else to win their first Women’s World Cup.

FAQs (Women’s World Cup)

Q: When did Spain win its first Women’s World Cup?
A: Spain won its first Women’s World Cup on Sunday, August 20, 2023.

Q: Who scored the only goal of the final?
A: Olga Carmona scored the only goal of the final in the 29th minute.

Q: Who was the best player of the tournament?
A: Aitana Bonmatí was the best player of the tournament.

Q: Who was the top scorer of the tournament?
A: Hinata Miyazawa was the top scorer of the tournament with five goals.

Q: Where was the final played?
A: The final was played at Stadium Australia in Sydney, Australia.

Leave a Comment